NJC dismisses petition against Oshoma, Thompson

The National Judicial Council, NJC, has dismissed a petition against a judge of the Rivers State High Court, Justice E. N. Thompson.

Also dismissed was a petition against Justice Hillary Oshoma of the Federal High Court Port Harcourt.

Soji Oye, Esq., the Director of Information for the Council said NJC deliberated on the report of its Preliminary Complaints Assessment Committee and decided to empanel eight Committees to investigate eight Judicial Officers from amongst the thirty-five petitions written against 37 Judges of the Federal and State High Courts.

“The remaining petitions were summarily dismissed for obvious and manifest lack of merit, being subjudice, concerning administrative matters, because such petitions were matters for appeal.

Also Read: Ekpeye Council of Chiefs inaugurates committees to tackle flooding, cultism

The dismissed petitions were against Justice Adamu Abdu-kafarati, Justices Anduwi Chikere, the immediate past Chief Judge of the Federal High Court, H. I. Oshoma, Ayo Emmanuel all of the Federal High Court, Justice J. D. Peters, National Industrial Court of Nigeria, Justice S. E. Aladetoyinbo (Rtd), of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory.

Also dismissed were petitions against Justice Opeyemi Oke (Rtd), Chief Judge of Lagos State, Justices K. A. Jose, S. S. Ogunsanya, T. A. Oyekan-Abdullahi, O. O. Femi-Adeniyi and D. T. Okuwobi, all of the Lagos State High Court.

Others are Justice Mojisola Idayat Sule, Oyo state High Court, Justices R. D. Harriman, A. O. Omamogbo, Michael Nduka Obi of the Delta State High Court, Justice E. N. Thompson of the Rivers State High Court, Justice Inaikende Eradiri, Bayelsa State High Court, Justices N. B. Ukoha and B. C. Iheka of the Imo State High Court, Justices F. I. N. Ngwu and R. O. Odugu of the Enugu State High Court, Justice Abdulkadir H. Suleiman of the Bauchi State High Court and Hon. Justice Garba Abdulkadir of the Katsina State High Court.

The Council also approved the recommendation of two Committees earlier set-up to investigate Justice Winifred I. A. Effiong of the Akwa-Ibom state High Court and Justice Bello Aliyu Gusau of High Court os Zamfara state, which absolved them of any judicial misconduct.