Just in: Imo Assembly speaker, seven lawmakers defect to APC

Collins Chiji, the Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly has defected to the All Progressives Congress, APC, from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Chiji alongside Seven other lawmakers also joined the ruling APC from the PDP.

The speaker announced his defection and that of his colleagues during 15 minutes plenary on Tuesday.

Also Read: Reactions as Maryam Sanda Is Sentenced To Death By Hanging

Others who defected are Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Dominic Ezerioha (Oru West) Chigozie Nwaneri(Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibe (Obowo) Onyemaechi Njoku(Ihitte/Uboma), and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

With the defections, APC now has 18 lawmakers with PDP having eight.