PDP wins 4 chairmanship seats in Kaduna

The Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission, on Thursday confirmed the results for 18 chairmanship seats out of the 23 Local Governments in the just concluded May 12 local councils polls.

The chairman of the Commission, Dr Saratu Dikko, who confirmed the results in Kaduna, said the All progressives Congress (APC) has so far, won 14 local government chairmanship seats, while the PDP won four seats.

Dikko disclosed that the commission would hold elections in the remaining five local government areas on June 2, 2018.

She said the APC won in Birnin-Gwari, Giwa, Igabi, Ikara, Kaduna North, Sabon-Gari, Kagarko,Kubau, Kudan, Lere, Makarfi, Sanga, Soba and Zaria, while the PDP won in Jema’a, Kachia, Kauru and Zango-Kataf.

According to her, Kaura, Jaba and Kajuru local governments would have fresh elections on June 2.

“This concludes the confirmation of the result,” she said, adding that the outstanding elections in four wards in Chikun and two wards in Kaduna South local governments would also hold on the same day.

She said Certificates of Return would be issued to the winners on Saturday, May 19, 2018.