Senate confirms new service chiefs

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of the new Service Chiefs. This follows the consideration of the report of the Committee on Defence which recommended their confirmation.

Ahmad Lawan, president of the senate had last Wednesday referred the request of President Muhammadu Buhari for confirmation of the new service chiefs, to the Committee on Defence.

Lawan gave the Senator Aliyu Wamakko-led committee, two weeks to carry out their assignments and report to the Senate in plenary.

The Senate confirmed their appointments at the committee of the whole and at plenary on Tuesday following the Wamakko report’s consideration

The new service chiefs are Maj. Gen. Lucky Eluonye Onyenuchea lrabor as Chief of Defence Staff; Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff); Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo, (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao as Chief of Air staff.

Lawan asked the new service chiefs to take the war to the bandits and insurgents and dislodge them in their strongholds.

The Nation