137 lawyers listed for conferment of SAN rank

A total of 137 senior lawyers have been shortlisted for the conferment rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN.

They comprise 116 Advocates and 21 Academics for the 2020 period.

The successful candidates emerged after two advocates’ filtration, academic pre-qualification exercise, and the appeal process.

According to a statement issued by the Acting Chief Registrar of Supreme Court/Secretary, Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, Hajo Saraki, each of the successful candidates is graded in accordance with the category system of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Guidelines 2018.

Among those shortlisted for the prestigious rank of SAN is the Attorney general of Akwa-Ibom state, Uwemedimo Nwoko, Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offence Commission, ICPC, Professor Bolaji Owasonoye, his counterpart in the National Human Rights Commission, Anthony Ojukwu.

According to the statement, the general public is at liberty to comment on the integrity, reputation and competence of the candidates.

Sarki, however, said any complaint presented to the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee must be accompanied with a verifying affidavit deposed to before a Court of Record in Nigeria.

Other shortlisted candidates include Delta State Attorney General, Peter Mrakpo, Deji Adedipe, Sule Shua’ Ibu, Muhammad Ndanusa, Adedapo Tunde-Olowu, Charles Oguejiofor, Robert Emukpoeruo, amongst others.