US blacklists Nigeria over religious freedom violations

The United States has designated Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations.

This was announced by the Secretary of state, Mike Pompeo.

According to him, the U.S. is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom.

“No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs.

” These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act”