INEC fixes dates for Edo, Ondo gov elections

The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has set September 19 and October 10, 2020, respectively as the date for the governorship elections in Edo and Ondo State.

The commission also said it has deregistered 74 political parties leaving Nigeria with 18 political parties.

The successful parties are Accord Party, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance, and Allied Peoples Movement.

Also Read: Amnesty International asks Buhari, Ayade to release Agba Jalingo

Others are the Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Redemption Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressives Party, and Zenith Labour Party.

According to INEC chairman, Mahmud Yakubu, 75 parties didn’t satisfy the requirement but one went to Court.