Rivers State and a tale of two ministers

Emma Okah

Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike was the Minister of State for Education from 2011 till he resigned to contest the governorship election in Rivers State. In our parlance, this is seen as a junior Minister. At that time, Rt Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi was the Governor of Rivers State. In a twist of fate, HE Nyesom Ezenwo Wike is now the Governor of Rivers State and Rt Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi is now the Transport Minister, a (Grade A) senior Minister.

This article is to show how much Gov. Wike brought home from Abuja when he was Minister. It is not a comparison with Rt Hon Amaechi because his tenure as Minister is still on course. Therefore no comparison can be fair at this time until he leaves the office.


  1. Establishment of Faculty of Law in the University of Port Harcourt with a take-off grant of N1BN (One Billion Naira) for the Faculty Building which is named after Late Barrister Wobidike Wonodi from Rivers State.

  2. The building of Faculty of Social Sciences Complex named after Late Prof. Claude Ake from Rivers State at a cost of N1BN (One Billion Naira)

  3. The sum of N500,000,000.00 (Five Hundred Million Naira) to the Ignatius Ajuru University of Education which is a State University.

Also Read: Trump cancels final NATO news conference after mock video

  1. The sum of N500,000,000.00 (Five Hundred Million Naira) to Rivers State Polytechnic now known as Kenule Beeson Saro Wiwa Polytechnic.

  2. Establishment of Oil and Gas Polytechnic, Bonny, Rivers State which is the first of its kind in Nigeria.

  3. Appointment of two Rivers State Sons as Rectors of Federal Polytechnics – Professor Joseph Balama Obomanu from Opobo and Professor Elijah Tamuno Iyagba from Okrika.

  4. Over 100 qualified Rivers, State Sons and Daughters employed in different parastatals in the Ministry of Education

  5. The building of Micro Testing Laboratory in the Federal College of Education (Technical), Omoku

  6. Federal Government Intervention in the following 25 State Schools;

a) Community Secondary School, Rumuepirikom, Obio/Akpor LGA

b) Abonnema Girls Secondary School, – Akuku-Toru LGA.

c) Government Secondary School, Egbolom Ikpede, Abua/Odua LGA

d) Community Primary School, Obiozo.

e) Community Secondary School, Ogu in Ogu-Bolo LGA

f) Birabi Memorial Grammar School (BMGS), Bori, Khana LGA

g) Our Lady of Lourdes Secondary School, Ozuoba, Obio/Akpor LGA

h) Government Secondary School, Eneka, Obio/Akpor LGA

i) Government Secondary School, Rumuopara Nkpolu, Rumuigbo, Obio/Akpor LGA

j) Finima Girls Secondary School, Bonny, Bonny LGA

k) Government Technical College, Tombia, Degema LGA

l) Nkpolu Oroworukwo Community School, Port Harcourt, PHALGA

m) St. Aquinas Secondary School, Elele Town – Ikwerre LGA

n) Community Secondary School Ubima, Ikwerre LGA (Contractor was chased out of smile by govt in office then)

o) Government Comprehensive Secondary School, Tabaa, Khana LGA

P) Government Girls’ Secondary School, Rumuokwuta, Obio/Akpor LGA

q) Santa Maria High School, Omoku, Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA

r) Bodo City Girls Secondary School, Gokana LGA

s) Community Primary School, Egberu Ndoki, Oyigbo LGA

t) Community Primary School, Ikpo-Ama in Ogu-Bolo LGA

u) Community Secondary School, Elekahia Port Harcourt LGA

v) Construction of Model Girls School, Aluu in Ikwerre LGA

w) Construction of Model Girls School in Ogu-Bolo LGA

x) Vocation School in Ikuru Town in Andoni LGA

y) Vocation School in Omoku, Ogba/Egbema/ Ndoni LGA.

This high degree of achievement is one of the reasons why the Ikwerre people are receiving Gov Nyesom Ezenwo Wike.