PDP presidential aspirants sign peace accord


Five presidential aspirants under the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), on Friday in Abuja, signed a peace accord as the party heads to its national convention taking place in Port Harcourt, from Saturday.

Those who put pen to paper to ensure that they remain faithful to the party irrespective of the outcome of the primary election, are Senate President Bukola Saraki, Governor Aminu Tambuwal, Tanimu Turaki, Datti Babba-Ahmed and Sule Lamido.

Others were absent at the ceremony presided over by the National Chairman of the party, Prince Uche Secondus at Legacy House, Maitama.

Those absent were former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso, Senator Ahmed Makarfi, former Governor Attahiru Bafarawa, former Senate President David Mark, former Governor Jonah Jang, Stanley Osifo and Governor Ibrahim Dankwambo.

It was not clear why they did not show up at the meeting.

Speaking after the signing, Secondus assured that primary election to select the party’s flag bearer will be transparent and the result acceptable to all.

He stressed the need for the aspirants to remain together no matter the outcome of the convention.

The party boss later handed over the signed documents to all the aspirants present.