NLO Zonal Playoffs: SKE fc to face Cynosure fc, eight others in Calabar

Ugochukwu Iwuchukwu

Port Harcourt based amateur side, SKE FC will compete against nine teams in the zonal playoffs of the 2021 Nationwide Division One season which kicks-off on the 7th of March 2021across different centres in the country.

Following the draws made by the organizers of the league SKE FC will now face Cynosure FC of Abakiliki, who were formerly based in Port Harcourt and Cofine FC, of Ikot Ekpene who denied SKE the top position in the 2019 league season.

SKE FC is billed to play their games at U.J Esuene Stadium, Calabar from 7th to 21st March 2021.

Other teams at the Calabar zone include; Ituen FC of Itam, Fatai Dragons FC of Benin, Rolly FC of Benin, J. Atete Feeders of Delta State, Isoko United of Delta State, Bussdor United of Owerri and Campus FC of Owerri

The table-toppers will emerge winner of the playoffs and will go to take on another team in the zone for a place in the Nigeria National League.

A total of One Hundred and thirty-two (132) clubs will slug it out in sixteen 16 centres during the zonal qualifiers.

Meanwhile, the Nationwide League One NLO has unveiled the Haggai Zebra as its official match ball for the 2020/2021 season.

NFF Vice President Seyi Akinwunmi unveiled Haggai Zebra match balls and other match kits ahead of the NLO season.

According to the organizers of the competition, no club will be allowed to participate without strict adherence to covid 19 safety protocols as released by NCDC, FIFA and NFF COVID 19 Task Force.

Thermometers will be used to check body temperatures of every participant at the match centres while hand sanitiser will be used by players and officials before and after matches at the venues.

•The NLO also insist that clubs will not be allowed to participate in the league without being a Corporate Entity (C.A.C Incorporation).