SSANU RSU elects new executives

Ugochukwu Iwuchukwu

The Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities SSANU, Rivers State University Branch, has elected new leaders who are to pilot the affairs of the Union for the next four years.

The leaders emerged through a keenly contested election held on Thursday 21st January 2021 at the Faculty of Law Auditorium.

The new leaders include Comrade Ene Aaron Osorochi (Chairman), Comrade Wilcox Nuka Lenwi (Vice-Chairman), Comrade Nnamdi Douglas (Secretary), Comrade Gospel Ajinwo (Assistant Secretary), Comrade Zagah Friday Joe (Treasurer), Comrade Damiete Ellis Isokariari (Financial Secretary), Comrade Victor G. Banigo (Public Relations Officer), Comrade Bema Samuel (Internal Auditor), Comrade Philip Woha Wogbo (Trustee) Comrade Victoria Lasisi (Women Leader) and Comrade Samuel Barivure Pamogho (Ex-Officio).

Inaugurating the leaders after the election, the National President of SSANU, represented by the National Vice-President (North East), Comrade Alhaji Isa, charged them to uphold the Constitution of SSANU and work as a team.

He said that they should see themselves as servant-leaders and place the welfare of members above their individual needs.

Also speaking, the National Vice-President (South-South), Comrade Ambassador Cheta Azumah commended the contestants for displaying the spirit of sportsmanship and thanked the Electoral Committee for conducting a free and fair election.

In his Acceptance Speech, the Chairman of SSANU Rivers State University Branch, Comrade Ene Aaron Osorochi expressed gratitude to God for the peaceful election and also thanked the Congress for the massive endorsement through their votes.

He said the leadership of the Union will place the welfare of members as a priority, adding that the ongoing Secretariat Building will be completed before the end of their tenure.

On his part, the Acting Electoral Committee Chairman, Comrade Isaac Orlu, said the 2021 SSANU election will go down in history as the first conducted and results declared before 4 pm.