Obaseki wins re-election with a wide margin

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC has declared the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Governor Godwin Obaseki winner of 2020 Edo State Governorship election.

Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his closest rival and APC Governorship candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu who scored 223,619 votes.

Election Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Petroleum Resources Effurun in Delta State, Professor Akpofure Rim-Rukeh who declared the results said Godwin Obaseki won in two-thirds of the 18 LGAs of Edo State

The total number of vote cast in the Edo Governorship election is 550,242 out of which 537,407 were valid votes and 12,835 returned as rejected votes.