As the Paris 2024 Olympics looms, the Super Falcons’ squad for the Women’s Olympic football tournament in France has been announced by Coach Randy Waldrum. The team includes captain Rasheedat Ajibade, goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie, and defenders Osinachi Ohale, Oluwatosin Demehin, and Michelle Alozie, as revealed in a statement from Mr. Ademola Olajire of the NFF in Abuja.

The lineup for the Women’s Olympic football event in France is coming together nicely with a solid squad! In addition to the players mentioned earlier, midfielders Deborah Abiodun, Halimatu Ayinde, Christy Ucheibe, and Toni Payne, as well as forwards Asisat Oshoala, Esther Okoronkwo, Chinwendu Ihezuo, and Uchenna Kanu, have also secured their spots. It’s exciting to hear that some team members will be flying from Abuja to Sevilla, Spain, to join the rest of the squad for the tournament. The team is gearing up for an exciting journey ahead!

He added that the rest of the playing body and technical team would also arrive in Sevilla on Friday, for a two-week training camp.

The team is scheduled to depart Sevilla for France on Thursday, July 18.

The nine-time African champions, Nigeria, who are making their first appearance at the Women’s Olympic football tournament for the first time since 2008 in China, will tackle Brazil, Spain, and Japan, in that order, at this year’s tournament.

To qualify for the 12-team tournament, the Falcons edged South Africa’s Banyana Banyana 1-0, with a strike from the penalty spot in Abuja by Ajibade, separating Africa’s top two teams, over two legs in the month of April.

Their first game, against Brazil, comes up at the Stade Bordeaux on July 25, before confrontations with Spain on July 28 and Japan, on July 31,”

According to Ademola, The games against Spain and Japan will take place at the Stade de la Beaujoire in Nantes, where the Super Eagles famously triumphed over tournament favorites Spain with a memorable 3-2 victory during the 1998 FIFA World Cup finals.

Other players on the list include Goalkeeper Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia) and Alternate players, Jumoke Alani (Nasarawa Amazons); Ifeoma Onumonu (Utah Royals, USA); Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain); and Morufa Ademola (Rivers Angels).

Full Squad List

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie and Tochukwu Oluehi.Defenders: Osinachi Ohale, Oluwatosin Demehin, Michelle Alozie,  Nicole Payne, and Chidinma Okeke.

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun, Halimatu Ayinde, Christy Ucheibe, and Toni Payne.

Forwards: Rasheedat Ajibade,  Esther Okoronkwo, Asisat Oshoala, Uchenna Kanu, Chiwendu Ihezuo and Chinonyerem Macleans

Alternate Players: Jumoke Alani,  Ifeoma Onumonu, Gift Monday, and Morufa Ademola

Leave a Reply