10 man Rivers United ‘pegged back’ at home by FC Ifeanyi Ubah”

John Diidi

Rivers United, on Sunday, suffered a set back in their quest to get the three-point lead at home, after playing out a 1-1 draw against the visiting FC Ifeanyi Ubah, in the NPFL match day 11 encounter.

Seka pascal got the first half proceedings on the way for the visitors.

In the 8th minute, FC Ifeanyi Ubah GK Bamba misread Ovoke’s corner, but Osita Chikere’s header was cleared by Wasiu.

13 minutes later, Emeka Ogbugh hit a free kick straight at Bamba from 30 yards.

In the 43rd minute, Pascal Seka’s long-range curler, was saved by Rivers United Goal Keeper Rotimi.

The first half was relatively a dour affair, characterized by heavy downpour at the later part.

Osita Chikere got the second half underway.

5 minutes later, Chikere set up Oche salifu, but Bamba was quick off his line to save.

In the 59th minute, Sunday Rotimi was sent off, reducing the home side to 10 men and a penalty awarded to the visitors after he lunged into Seka Pascal, with Pascal sustaining an injury.

Robert Cole replaced Bernard Ovoke. His first task was to stop the penalty, but Onyekachi Chidume neatly converted it, sending him to the wrong direction.

Yaya Kone replaced the injured Seka Pascal four minutes later.

Festus Austine (RIV) got booked for a cynical foul on Daberechi Anyanwu on the 78th minute.

In a sudden change of Fortune, Sadiq Abdulrazak (FCIU) got sent off for a second bookable offence. Bringing both sides to 10-10.

Rivers United took advantage of the sending off of Sadiq, as Salefu Ochefu turned up with a stunning goal from 18 yards to equalize from an Osita Chikere assist.

The game eventually ended 1-1 after a nervy finish, which saw five additional minutes.

Team Line Up

22. Sunday Rotimi 30. Markson Ojobo 14. Zoumana Doumbia 28. (Obamate 85′) Godwin Obinze 5. Samson Gbadebo 19. Festus Austine 7. Bernard Ovoke 26. (Robert Cole 65′) Emeka Ogbugh 2. Osita Chikere 23. Ochowechi Salefu 15. Bakary Bamba (Malachi Ohawume 74′)

SUBS: 1. Robert Cole 4. Ikeleji Bello 9. Guy Keumian 18. Akeem Balogun 20. Fredrick Obomate 25. Malachi Ohawume 27. Christian Weli


16. Drissa Bamba 15. Ebuka Nwenyi 3. Felix Osia 4. Tony Msonter 22. Wasiu Jimoh 26. Onyekachi Chidume 23. Abdulrazak Sodiq 33. Faruq Umar 29. Daberechi Anyanwu 8. Ekene Awazie 11. Pascal Seka (Yaya Kone 70′)

SUBS: 30. Charles Tambe 7. Yaya Kone 10. John Huan 18. Gabriel Adeboye 19. Suraj Sodiq 28. Saviour Francis 35. Jimoh Gbadamosi

Red Card: 2

Yellow Card: 2